Embassy Holidays

From  Uganda Public Service Standing Orders (C - j)


  1. The observance of Public Holidays by Government Ministries, Departments and Local Governments is governed by the Public Holidays Act, Cap. 255 which declares public holidays in Uganda under the Schedule to that Act and also empowers the President to declare any other public holiday.
  2.  At the commencement of these Standing Orders, the following are public holidays
  • New Year’s Day 1st January
  • Liberation Day 26th January
  • Janan Luwum Day 16th February
  • Idd el Fitr
  •  Idd Adhuha
  • Good Friday
  • Easter Monday
  • Women’s Day 8th March
  • Labour Day 1st May
  • Martyrs’ Day 3rd June
  • Heroes’ Day 9th June
  • Independence Day 9th October
  • Christmas Day 25th December
  •  Boxing Day 26th December

2. Government offices will be closed on all public holidays. In the case of the Foreign Service, each Mission will be closed on all public holidays observed in Uganda and every public holiday of the country to which it is accredited